Keywords :   

News category:

Consumer Goods and Services

Libor rigging inquiry shut down by Serious Fraud Office

2019-10-19 13:04:23| BBC News | Business | UK Edition

The Serious Fraud Office unexpectedly closes an investigation into interest rate fraud.

Category: Consumer Goods and Services

Carney: Brexit deal 'positive' for UK economy

2019-10-18 23:08:07| BBC News | Business | UK Edition

Governor of the Bank of England says deal takes away the threat of a 'disorderly' Brexit.

Tags: positive deal economy brexit

Category: Consumer Goods and Services

The spectacular fall of money manager Neil Woodford

2019-10-18 23:03:24| BBC News | Business | UK Edition

Sacked from his flagship fund, and shutting the business - the story of Neil Woodford and his sudden fall.

Tags: money fall manager neil

Category: Consumer Goods and Services

Information Technology

Solus Brightens Computing Across the Linux User Spectrum

2019-10-18 19:00:34| TechNewsWorld

The Solus Project is alive and well and continues to offer a fresh approach to uncomplicating the computer desktop. That says a lot, given the sometimes sordid developmental path of the almost 5-year-old Linux distribution. Solus 4.0 Linux "Fortitude" was released earlier this month. The Solus team provided improvements to the distribution's supported desktop environments: Budgie, GNOME and MATE.

Category: Information Technology

Adopt a Maintenance Mindset: Protect IT

2019-10-18 13:00:00| TechNewsWorld

As part of National Cyber Security Awareness Month, the National Cyber Security Alliance is advising all computer users to "Protect IT" by taking precautions such as updating to the latest security software, Web browser and OS. The nonprofit public-private partnership, which works with DHS and private sector sponsors, advised computer users on ways to protect their personal data.

Category: Information Technology

New Tech Vetting Law in SF Could Fuel Regulatory Trend

2019-10-17 19:11:57| TechNewsWorld

San Francisco officials want to get ahead of the emerging technology curve by prequalifying and regulating startup tech proposals before products become available to consumers. That approach is a developing trend in the U.S., according to Arle Lommel, senior analyst at CSA Research. If approved, the creation of a city-controlled regulatory office would invert the historical norm.

Tags: law tech trend fuel

Category: Information Technology

Real Estate

Fed's Richard Clarida Says Economy in Good Place With Evident Risks

2019-10-18 20:11:00| National Real Estate Investor

Fed's Richard Clarida says the Fed will act as appropriate to sustain growth, as the vice chairman points to risks of global disinflationary pressures.

Category: Real Estate

NREI's Common Area, Episode 20

2019-10-18 20:11:00| National Real Estate Investor

David Bodamer discusses Nestpicks list of the worlds best cities for Generation Z, what RCAs research is showing for the slowdown of CRE acquisitions by foreign investors, and lastly what questions Californias new rent control law is posing for multifamily investors.

Category: Real Estate

Spirit Air Plans New $250 Million Headquarters in South Florida

2019-10-18 17:41:00| National Real Estate Investor

The airline will build a 500,000-sq.-ft. campus in Dania Beach, Fla. to consolidate more than 1,200 employees.

Tags: south air million plans

Category: Real Estate


Ceconomy confirms departure of CEO, appoints interim replacement

2019-10-18 09:19:00| Telecompaper Headlines

(Telecompaper) Ceconomy, the owner of retailers Media Markt and Saturn, has announced the departure of chief executive officer Jorg Werner, after an extraordinary supervisory board meeting.

Category: Telecommunications

ACM warns Dutch fibre roll-out at risk from duplicate networks

2019-10-18 09:11:00| Telecompaper Headlines

(Telecompaper) The expansion of fibre broadband in the Netherlands is at risk due to competitive operators duplicating networks, the ACM warned. The competition and telecom regulator's fibre market study suggests operators should cooperate more on the roll-out and local authorities can do more to stop duplicate networks. 

Category: Telecommunications

Ingram Micro confirms withdrawal from South Africa

2019-10-18 09:09:00| Telecompaper Headlines

(Telecompaper) Global tech distributor Ingram Micro has confirmed that it is will close down its South African business because of the relatively small size of its operations there. It cited the limited number of product lines that are available in South Africa as a reason for its decision, too. Ingram Micro will continue to offer services to South African customers from Europe, which it believes will allow it to "provide a more robust suite of offerings".

Category: Telecommunications